November 2018


History of the Energy Corridor District

In the early 1970s, major employers with growing operations looked at relocating to suburban campus environments near new housing for additional employees. Two energy companies, Shell Oil Company and Conoco (now ConocoPhillips), led the way by constructing state-of-the-art campus facilities on Interstate 10 at Dairy-Ashford and Eldridge Parkway, respectively. Other oil and gas companies quickly followed suit, including Amoco (now BP America) and Exxon Chemicals USA, as well as a number of energy industry service companies such as M.W. Kellogg, Diamond Offshore and Atwood Oceanics.

The Texas state government established the Energy Corridor District (also known as Harris County Improvement District #4) in 2001 as a municipal management district at the request of the area's commercial property owners. Municipal management districts coordinate public and private investment, promote public safety and improve the quality of life within the district.

During the past 10 years, the Energy Corridor has gained recognition as a well-planned, high-quality community that integrates regional and metropolitan commercial development. Our vision is to be the world's premier location for energy-related businesses.

This success would not be possible without maintaining a strong relationship with our locally elected representatives.

These officials include:

United States Government

John Culberson
U.S. Representative District 7


State of Texas

Dan Patrick
State Senator District 7

Joan Huffman 
State Senator District 17

Dwayne Bohac
State Representative District 138

Bill Callegari
State Representative District 132

Kristy Thibaut
State Representative District 133

Hubert Vo
State Representative District 149

Harris County

Judge Ed Emmett
Harris County Judge

Steve Radack
Commissioner Harris County Precinct 3

City of Houston

Mayor Annise Parker 
Mayor, City of Houston, Texas 

Stephen C. Costello
At Large 1

Andrew C. Burks, Jr.
At Large 2

Melissa Noriega
At Large 3

C.O. "Brad" Bradford
At Large 4

Jack Christie
At Large 5

Helena Brown                                              
Council Member District A                           

Oliver Pennington                                         
Council Member District G                           


US Army Corps of Engineers – Galveston, TX command

TxDOT Houston Regional Engineer’s Office

H-GAC Regional Transportation Committee

H-GAC Natural Resources Advisory Committee

H-GAC Community and Environmental Planning

Harris County Flood Control District